“Mom’s Gift” – Winter 2019

Home » Current Season » “Mom’s Gift” – Winter 2019

Mom’s Gift

Directed by Emily Lamarre

Assisted by Bob Lively


Audition Information:

Attleboro Community Theatre is pleased to announce open auditions for the Winter show of ACT’s 62nd season. Mom’s Gift will be directed by Emily Lamarre and auditions will take place on December 10th and 11th from 7pm – 9pm at Attleboro Community Theatre, located in the basement of the Ezekiel Bates Lodge at 71 N Main St, Attleboro, MA.
Please prepare a one-minute comedic or dramatic monologue. Auditions will also consist of cold readings from the script. Attending both nights is not required, but highly recommended.
ACT is looking for 2 males and 5 females
Show dates include February 15, 16, 17, 22, 23, 24, March 1, 2, and 3.
*All actors must be able to perform in all 9 shows and be available for tech week leading into opening night.
About the Show:
Mom has been dead for 11 months and shows up at her husband’s birthday party as a ghost with a mission. Like Clarence in It’s A Wonderful Life, she has to accomplish a task to earn her wings. Only what the task actually is, is a mystery. There are so many things to fix. The problem is complicated by the fact that the only person who can hear or see Mom is her daughter who has been ordered by the court to spend Dad’s birthday with him as part of her Anger Management Program. One by one the family’s secrets are peeled away revealing a shocking truth that surprises even our ghost.
Open Roles:
Kat – Late 20s – early 30s, older sister to Brittany. Plain, extremely smart. Acerbic but likable, with a sense of humor. Vulnerable and sympathetic. Playfully sarcastic but never mean spirited
Mom- 50s – early 60s, Patriots Fan. Good sense of humor and deeply caring.
Dad- 50s – early 60s. A doctor. Nice guy, reserved and holds cards close to the vest.
Brittney- Early – mid 20s, younger sister to Kat. Pretty, peppy, ditzy, sincere, genuine, not sarcastic. A Hooters girl.
Trish- 40s – early 50s. A Nurse, kind-hearted.
Kevin- Late 20s – early 30s. Kat’s neighbor growing up. Good looking, successful business person. Was a jock in high school.
Mrs. Norquist- 70s, Neighbor and a little loopy.

*Logo designed by Chris Sabatino